Sorbet Season

July 23, 2009 at 6:09 am 6 comments

One day while scouring the internet for an “I-need-chocolate-and-I-need-it-fast” recipe, I stumbled across this gem. I made a small batch about a week ago and yet there is three-quarters of the batch still in the freezer. Now I’m not saying this isn’t good enough to devour in a week, what I’m saying is, IT IS INCREDIBLY RICH. I could only eat a 1/4 cup the times I had it, which is saying something coming from someone with a severe sweet tooth. It is dairy-free, gluten-free, and fat-free but by no means healthy.. however, if you’re only eating a 1/4 cup each time it isnt a bad treat for when you need a serious (summertime!) chocolate fix. And it is a cinch to make.

Chocolate Sorbet

2 cups water
1 cup sugar (I used a few tablespoons less)
1 cup cocoa powder

Combine the water and sugar in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir until the sugar dissolves. Whisk in the cocoa and continue whisking until the mixture comes to a simmer. Simmer for 3 minutes, whisking constantly.

Remove from heat and strain into a bowl. Let cool several minutes on the counter, then transfer to the refrigerator to chill at least 2 hours or overnight.

Stir the mixture and add to your ice cream machine*, following the manufacturer’s instructions. Remove and place in a freezer safe container; press plastic wrap down onto the top to prevent freezer-burn. Let harden a few hours.

*If you do not have an ice cream maker, try transfering to freezer after it cools in refrigerator and once completely frozen, transfer to blender. And repeat until it looks like sorbet. I haven’t made it this way, but it SHOULD work.

Mango is hands down my favorite fruit. So when I figured out how simple it was to make sorbet AND very ripe mangoes were on sale, I knew what would soon be churning in my ice cream maker. After turning my kitchen yellow from the mango juice (they are a pain to peel and cut up) and making the simple syrup, the sorbet was on its way.

This is an extremely basic recipe found just about anywhere on the internet and in cookbooks, but it is so refreshing and delicious. And it makes a very large batch of sorbet.

Mango Lime Sorbet

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

Zest from one lime

3 ripe mangos (about 2 1/2 pounds)

1/2 cup lime juice

Heat the sugar, water, and lime zest in a medium saucepan until the sugar has completely dissolved. Set aside to cool.

Cut the flesh from the mangoes

Put the mango pieces, sugar water, and lime juice into a blender. Blend until completely smooth. Pour into a medium bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate until completely chilled.

Put the chilled lime mango purée into your ice cream maker. Process the mixture in your ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions. Transfer mixture to a plastic storage container and freezer in your freezer until firm, at least 6 hours.

Thanks all for reading! If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Tiny Cherry Pie(s) Peach Cobbler

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  July 23, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    I’m going to try the chocolate sorbet tonight! I’m excited!

    Reply
  • 2. vegvamp  |  July 24, 2009 at 5:29 am

    I don’t have an ice cream maker, could I make ithe mango sorbet using the blender technique like the chocolate sorbet?

    Reply
    • 3. craftedmybones  |  July 24, 2009 at 6:15 pm

      vegvamp: yep! just be sure to puree all the ingredients really good before freezing.

      Reply
      • 4. vegvamp  |  July 24, 2009 at 6:24 pm

        ok thanks, I can’t wait to try it!

        I made the chocolate sorbet yesterday, it was amazing!

  • 5. lauraispass  |  August 17, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    mmm. i used 1 and 1/4 cup water and 3/4 cup soy milk
    and used 1/4 c less cocoa powder because that was all i had. i also replaces the sugar with agave nectar, and didn’t heat anything.

    very yummy! and like you said, incredibly rich!

    Reply
  • 6. ThePageStaysBlank  |  October 14, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    I’ve never looked at a sorbet recipe. I just figured it would be way above me (and my very small kitchen). I’m shocked to see it’s that easy. I’ll defiantly have to try the chocolate one out.

    The mango one I’m not so sure about. Whenever I eat mangos they strangely remind me of carrots.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


All of the recipes are made without animal products.

Flickr Photos

Untitled-1

selling MAC

selling MAC

More Photos

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

